Save & Load Scene

Lean how to save and load your actions

Save Scene

On the Editor left, inside the Tab Utility, you have a button to save your Scene. Saving your Scene will create a permanent backup of your Game World,  Game Screens, Camera Settings, and Scene Settings.

The Engine saves your Scene in a JSON format. The save file is located inside the folder Nero of your project. If your Scene is named ” My Scene ” then, you can find the save file at : Project/Nero/My Scene/My Scene.json

You can save your Scene with the classic shortcut CTRL + S

 

Auto Save

The Engine can save your Scene automatically. There are two situations where this happens.

  • The first situation is when you activate Auto Save inside the Tab Utility. In this case, the Engine will save your Scene every 30 seconds. You can change that interval. Inside your project folder, there is a folder called config, inside, you can find a file named engine_config.json. You can change the property auto_save_time to the number of seconds you want.
  • The second situation is when you have several Scenes added to the Editor. In this case, each time you select a new Scene, the Engine saves the Scene you are leaving before to load the other one.
// Project/config/engine_config.json
{
   "auto_save": true,
   "auto_save_time": 30.0,
   "carriage_return": "|",
   "last_scene": "## + default + ##",
   "max_scene": 10,
   "preview_alpha": 180
}

Load Scene

You can load your Scene at any moment using the button Load inside the Tab Utility. Loading your Scene will cause the Editor to destroy your current Scene and then rebuild it using the JSON save file.

Instead of using the button Load, you can also load your Scene with CTRL + L.

Undo & Redo

Inside the Toolbar, you have two buttons in the form of arrows. The button on the left allows you to Undo your actions while the button on the right allows you to Redo them.

The Engine tracks all your actions like adding Layers and Objects, moving Objects, changing their name or color, etc. Each time you perform an action, the Engine takes a snapshot of your Scene and saves it.

There is no limit on the number of Undo and Redo you can do. One thing to remember is your Undo and Redo are lost when you close the Editor.

The Engine maintains different Undo and Redo states for the Game World and each of your Game Screens. This means if you leave the Game World to work on a Game Screen you can come back to the Game World and find your Undo and Redo, the same goes for each Game Screen.

Instead of using the two buttons, you can also Undo and Redo with the classic shortcuts CTRL + Z and CTRL + Y